Review: Lee County Line "Lee County Line" Self-Titled EP

Fans of Texas country music have reason to celebrate, because the four-member Lee County Line is ready to rock the radio with its unique blend of melodic Red Dirt. The band's self-titled EP represents a significant step-forward for a band whose members are not even old enough to drink.
Lead singer Tanner McPhaul shines on the first track "The Way Things Change." This cut, written by drummer Josh Murdoch, has a cool Randy Rogers Band meets Hootie and the Blowfish vibe. The instrumentation is solid, and the production of Will Nicholson is above average.

The second cut "Her Lyin' Eyes" is a rollicking gem that will be popular at Lee County Line (LCL) concerts. However, the EP comes into its own with the intimate cut "Songs About Me." The track starts out with intense lyrics and builds to an rousing (almost gospel-like) crescendo.

"Take My Hand" showcases the band's stellar instrumentation, but the best song on the album is saved for last with "Misery."  McPhaul's vocals sparkle, and the track is proof positive that Lee County Line deserves a place on the Texas country and  mainstream country charts for years to come. Major country labels should send the band four plane tickets and offer the guys a chance to sign on the dotted line.

It's clear that Lee County Line is a band with plenty still to learn, but the self-titled "Lee County Line" EP shows that the raw talent needed for a successful career is all there. Indeed, once you cross the Lee County Line, you'll want to stay for awhile and keep coming back for more. Here's hoping, a new 12 or 13 song album will come along real soon.

Most read

iTunes Top 200 Country Music Songs 2019 - UPDATED - Hot 40 Country Digital MP3 - Top 100 Downloads Singles Chart

Top 100 Country and Southern Gospel Songs Chart 2019 - Top 40 Christian Country Albums on iTunes, MP3, CD Albums Charts

Top 200 iTunes Country Songs Albums Music Chart REALTIME 2019 - Digital Country Music Albums and Radio Singles Chart

Top 100 Outlaw Country Songs Chart 2019 - Outlaw Country Albums Charts - Top 100 MP3 and iTunes Outlaw Country Singles & Albums

Top 100 Americana Music Songs Chart 2019 - Top 100 Americana Albums Online from iTunes, Streaming, CD and Radio

Top 100 iTunes Country Music Video Chart 2019 - iTunes Country Videos Chart - UPDATED

Top 200 Country Music Album Charts 2019 - iTunes, MP3 Downloads, CD & Vinyl Chart - DAILY Top 100 EPs

Top 200 Bluegrass iTunes Albums Chart 2019 - Top 100 Bluegrass Country Songs - Top 40 CD, Vinyl, MP3 Singles Downloads Charts

Top Brand New Country Music Music Singles 2019 and Hot New Albums Added To iTunes - Country Songs Just Added to iTunes

Top 100 Contemporary Country Music Chart 2019 Top Songs and Hot Albums from iTunes and Digital MP3 Downloads