Album Review: Anne McCue "Broken Promise Land"

The closing track of Anne McCue's stellar new album explains the artist in a nutshell: "Rock N' Roll Outlaw." But that seemingly simplistic title doesn't completely do justice to McCue's new, 10 track album, "Broken Promise Land." That's because she shows vulnerability and musical passion in a hard-edge package that is irresistible to the ears. In short, Anne McCue deserves to be a roots rock superstar.
The first track "Don't Go To Texas (Without Me)" is a radio friendly gem that glides as naturally as your favorite pair of sneakers. "Ol' Black Sky" ventures into a darker, more ethereal place reminiscent of the best music of Alannah Myles. "Cruisin' Paradise (Tenerife)" and "God's Home Number" are also bluesy pleasure points.

McCue's roots rock edge returns with "Lonesome Child." The instrumentation and lyrics on the track deserve special mention for setting the perfect mood on the cut. However, it is the stripped-down, anthemic "The Lonely One" which showcases McCue's vocals the most. Anne McCue has never sounded better, and the cut deserves the attention of radio program directors.

Rock lovers will shout with joy after hearing the hard-pumping title track "Broken Promise Land." The pace slows down with "Motorcycle Dream" and "The Old Man's Talkin'." But the aforementioned final track ends on the most pleasing of notes with "Rock N' Roll Outlaw."

Anne McCue has crafted a deliciously charismatic and diverse musical treat with the album "Broken Promise Land." Promises are made to be kept. But if broken promises sound this good, we'll be happy to take some more from Anne McCue.