What's New: Derek Sholl "Derek Sholl"

Derek Sholl's new self-titled album "Derek Sholl" just arrived at the Country Chart office. The current, military-themed single "When They Come Back" is touching people all over the country. Our full review of Derek Sholl "Derek Sholl" is coming soon.

From the press release: 
 Sometimes it takes the rough hand of fate to send a man chasing his true calling in life. As a kid, Derek Sholl dreamed of making it to the big leagues, to feel the incredible power of a ball park cheering for his team, and to knock one into the cheap seats with the game on the line. A common dream, but uncommonly, it came true. Out of high school, this charismatic Southern Californian signed with the Kansas City Royals.

On his fist day as a pro, a wild pitch broke one of his knuckles. While on the injured list, he entertained his teammates by singing the country songs they loved to hear. He soon adopted the passion of the music he imitated, and could be found strumming a guitar in the dugout, doing his best impressions of Alan Jackson and Randy Travis.

“I would just mess around and sing to them at practice…They laughed, but would say, ‘Man, you’re really good! Either get off the disabled list or get yourself to Nashville!” Sholl recalls.

Every time Derek came off the injured list, his pro baseball career would suffer another freakish blow. A fast ball broke his arm just after his first return to the outfield. Finally, a torn Achilles tendon ended his dreams of MLB greatness for good. Little did Derek Sholl know that when he parted ways with the Royals, his true opportunity in the big leagues would come from the talents he had honed off the baseball diamond.

The poignant lyrics and great life stories that form the lifeblood of country music spoke to Derek in a way unlike any music he’d experienced growing up. He hung up his cleats, picked up his guitar and made his mind up to conquer a new mountain: the country music scene.

He formed a band, and his smooth baritone voice captivated packed venues all over the South until a handshake deal turned into a three year run opening for Jay Leno’s live show at the Mirage in Las Vegas. Jay Leno said: “He plays every gig like it’s the Grand Ole Opry and I think that is the key.”

Derek recalls, “Playing for Jay at The Mirage in Las Vegas was a privilege for all of us! People would visit his show from all over the world and even though we had built a fan base at the casinos, we had a different kind of crowd every night with Jay. It taught me how to work a big stage.”

Track listing: 
  1. Just Because You Can
  2. Now and Her Driveway
  3. When They Come Back
  4. Even If It Kills Me
  5. But It Was
  6. One More Round
  7. Poor Man's Miracle
  8. That Was Something
  9. Here
  10. Need More Proof
  11. She's Bad
  12. Grain of Salt
  13. The Dash

Most read

iTunes Top 200 Country Music Songs 2019 - UPDATED - Hot 40 Country Digital MP3 - Top 100 Downloads Singles Chart

Top 100 Country and Southern Gospel Songs Chart 2019 - Top 40 Christian Country Albums on iTunes, MP3, CD Albums Charts

Top 200 iTunes Country Songs Albums Music Chart REALTIME 2019 - Digital Country Music Albums and Radio Singles Chart

Top 100 Outlaw Country Songs Chart 2019 - Outlaw Country Albums Charts - Top 100 MP3 and iTunes Outlaw Country Singles & Albums

Top 100 Americana Music Songs Chart 2019 - Top 100 Americana Albums Online from iTunes, Streaming, CD and Radio

Top 100 iTunes Country Music Video Chart 2019 - iTunes Country Videos Chart - UPDATED

Top 200 Country Music Album Charts 2019 - iTunes, MP3 Downloads, CD & Vinyl Chart - DAILY Top 100 EPs

Top Brand New Country Music Music Singles 2019 and Hot New Albums Added To iTunes - Country Songs Just Added to iTunes

Top 200 Bluegrass iTunes Albums Chart 2019 - Top 100 Bluegrass Country Songs - Top 40 CD, Vinyl, MP3 Singles Downloads Charts

Top 40 Western Swing Music Chart 2019 - Hot Western Swing Music CD, Vinyl Records MP3 Online Downloads and Streaming Charts